‘Momma, if you have enough money you can get him out’

Judge Thorne has little patience for 42-year-old still living at home

By the Evening Times News Staff news@theeveningtimes.com

“On Wednesday, I took care of all the jail cases. From 2:30 on Wednesday to 8:30 on Friday, approximately 42 hours, I now have 15 misdemeanors and 8 felonies,” said Judge Fred Thorne. “How many people in here were born before 1960? I think life was simpler then.” A man in jail was charged with criminal mischief, public intoxication and fleeing. He was back for sentencing. “When Ruby writes me a letter, she needs to get my name right. $350 plus court costs on the criminal mischief, $400 plus court costs on the public intoxication and I’ll dismiss the fleeing. 30 days suspended if you work out a payment plan.” Another man in jail pled guilty to marijuana charges. “How old are you?” “35.” “Do you work?” “Yes, sir.” “Are you on probation?” “Yes, sir.” “Out of where?” “West Memphis.” “Do you have a family?” “Yes.” “How is this good for your family, you going back and forth between jail and the penitentiary?” “It is not good, sir.” “$750 plus court costs, have a seat.” A man in jail charged with driving on suspended and bogus tags pled guilty. “Is your license suspended for child support?” “I think it was failure to maintain insurance.” “Whose car was it?” “My wife. I was picking up my step-daughter from work.” “You can’t legally pick up anyone. $750 plus court costs on the driving on suspended and $105 plus court costs on the tags.” A woman in jail was told, “You didn’t pay $490 that you owed us. How do you plead?” “No contest.” “You could have had a payment plan.” “I’ve learned my lesson. I want to apologize. I want to go.” “You can go if you pay the $450.” A man in jail owed $1,088 since September and pled no contest. “All you had to do was pay $50 or $100 a week.” “I got laid off.” “Pay $400 today and stay on the payment plan.” “Do I get the time I’ve served? Is there something else I can do?” “You can pay $400 or do 28 days in jail.” A man in jail who refused to sign up for his trial was in front of Judge Thorne. “90 days jail and three months probation. If you don’t like the sentence you can appeal it.” A woman in jail who couldn’t seem to state her plea was told to go talk to the public defender. A man in jail charged with no driver’s license, no tags, no insurance and failure to appear pled guilty to all charges. “Why didn’t you come to court?” “I was at work.” “Whose car was it?” “My girlfriend’s.” “How old are you?” “42.” “Who takes care of you?” “My mother.” His mother was in the courtroom and stood up. “You should be ashamed to admit that your mother takes care of you at your age. $65 plus court costs on the driver’s license, $65 plus court costs on the tags, $350 plus court costs on the insurance and $105 plus court costs on the failure to appear. Momma, if you have enough money you can get him out.” A woman in the courtroom was asked, “Do you have a job?” “No, I do not.” “Have you ever had a job?” “Lots of years ago.” “Who supports you?” “My son draws a check.” “Your son supports you? There is something wrong with scenario.”“I have to take care of him.” “Go see the public defender.” A man in the courtroom was charged with no liability insurance. He pled guilty. “Got any insurance now?” “No, sir. I don’t drive. When I moved up here I didn’t have any.” “Do you have insurance now?”“I don’t drive.” “$375 plus court costs.” A woman in the courtroom was called up. “How do you plead to parking in a handicapped spot?” “Guilty.” “No tags?” “Guilty.” “No insurance.” “Guilty.” “Theft by receiving?” “Not guilty.” “Tell me about this. Whose car was it?” “It was my car. I bought it.” “Who put the plates on the car?” “I did. The people I got the car from gave them to me. I didn’t know they were stolen.” “When did you buy the car?” “A couple of months ago.” “$75 plus court costs on the handicapped parking, $105 plus court costs on the tags and $375 on the no insurance. I’ll dismiss the theft by receiving.” A man in the courtroom was asked, “How old are you?” “19.” “Are you his father?” “Yes, sir.” “How do you plead to failure to yield?” “No contest.” “Are you going to school?” “Yes, Mid-South.” “How many hours are you taking?” “I haven’t started yet. I filled out my finances.” “Lots of people fill out their financial agreement and get the check and never show up for school. Do you work?” “Yes at Southland.” “How many hours do you work?” “I just got hired. I haven’t started yet.” “The charge will be $45 plus court costs but I’m going to defer this to Jan. 22. You come back here and show me proof that you are going to college. Bring your class schedule and I’ll drop the charge. See you Jan. 22, and bring your proof.” An older man was in the courtroom. “Have you brought me a report on his hearing?” “Yes, sir,” said his daughter. “Sir, you can’t drive anymore. You have too many problems and I don’t want you on the road.” The man nodded his head in understanding. As he was leaving the courtroom he said, “Never again?” “No, never again.” The daughter said, “I don’t want him to be mad at me.” “If you are mad at someone because you can’t drive, you can be mad at me,” said Judge Thorne.

Leave a Reply

