Marion senior inks with Crowley’s Ridge College

Moore ready to take next step in baseball career

By Chuck Livingston Sports Editor

Marion senior baseball player Peyton Moore signed to continue his baseball career on Tuesday afternoon. The right-handed pitcher will suit up for Crowley’s Ridge College in Paragould, Arkansas, starting in the fall of 2016. Moore emerged late in the spring of 2015 for Marion in the rotation and threw a one-hit shutout in the Pats’ final conference game of the year in Searcy. “I’m glad that I’ll be able to continue playing baseball,” Moore explained. “I’ve played sports since I was really little so I’m pretty excited to be able to continue playing as long as I can.” Crowley’s Ridge is coached by Brendan Camp, a former pitcher at Nettleton High School. “I like that the school is smaller and kind of close together,” Moore said of his new school. “I really liked the team. I liked the way that practice was ran, too. I just thought everything that was ran there was pretty smooth.” Crowley’s Ridge plays area schools like Williams Baptist from Walnut Ridge, Ecclesia College out of Springdale and Central Baptist College in Conway. Entering the 2016 season, Moore projects to be one of Marion’s key starting pitchers. The Pats will open their season in March.

Leave a Reply

