Text The Times 870-225-1456

In reference to the “Our View” concerning DHS dated Dec. 29, 2015. Rude, incompetent and inept does not even touch the surface! [Editor’s Note: It’s entirely possible that there are hundreds of positive stories out there concerning our state’s Department of Human Services, but it just seems like there’s nothing but negativity. I can’t speak to any of the local branches’ operations, but it’s obvious there has been rampant mismanagement at the state level for years]

*** Your article in Tuesday Dec. 29 paper regarding DHS was right on target!!! Thank you!! Maybe something will be done about this, finally!! [Editor’s Note: It would appear that DHS is getting a makeover from the top down. Reports indicate a complete restructuring that hopefully will include more accountability and oversight, otherwise the massive, unruly department will continue to hemorrhage money at taxpayers’ expense]

*** To the man who picked up my $320.00 at the flash market on Broadway today 01/04/16 you knew it was not your money I had to drop it by my feet that was my rent. I was getting a money order [Editor’s Note: Ouch! It’s never a good time for that sort of thing, but especially the first of the year and right after Christmas, when finances are decidedly tight, is very unfortunate. I wish there was more that I could do, but unfortunately, I’m afraid your money is likely gone for good. I’ve had both good and bad experiences involving dropped or mislaid cash or valuables, so I feel your pain. And just so I can say I said it, “finding” money does not entitle you to keep it. I see it all the time in the Police Reports. It’s called “theft of items lost, mislaid or delivered by mistake”]

*** Good to see Mr. Chuck giving the Hogs some space in the paper. Can we expect the same for basketball season? [Editor’s Note: In the interest of full disclosure, the Razorbacks will almost always take a back seat to local sports coverage. That’s just what we do. When space allows, I’m sure Chuck will be on the spot with Hogs hoops coverage. In fact, when it comes to sports outside of Crittenden County, I’d say the priorities would be Razorbacks, Grizzlies, Tigers, Red Wolves, and then other regional or national teams as they are relevant to our readership, such as a local player signing with or playing with a college or pro team. Although I’m going to go ahead and say if the Chicago Cubs ever win a World Series, he’d probably want me to run it on the front page]

*** I would like to thank the West Memphis A&P for supplying the Mata shuttle to the Liberty Bowl. It was a fun time and no parking fees or having to worry about all that traffic. I sure was surprised only 25 people took advantage of this bus, those that did not participate sure missed a great ride and probably suffered a big headache in post game traffic. Thanks again A&P, good job! [Editor’s Note: I thought it was a great idea, especially for those who elected to partake in “adult beverages” … to keep warm, of course. I would have expected the number to be a little higher, but 25 isn’t too bad for the first time such a service was offered]

*** http://water.weater.gov/ahp2/hydrograph/php?wfo+MEG&gage=MEMT1 https://www.facebook.com/MemphisUSACE http://www.srh.noaa.gov/mrfc/?n=lmrfc-mississippiandohioriverforecast I was alarmed that your article was as inaccurate about the river as it was. It is extremely important to many residents of Crittenden County to provide them with accurate information. [Editor’s Note: I tried cutting and pasting the various jumbles of letters you were kind enough to send me but nothing I saw aided me in figuring out what inaccuracies you were referencing. The most up-to-date figures are slightly below those projected in the story, but as those are only projection models, there’s always a margin of error (you know, like if the weather man says there’s a 70% chance of rain). If that’s your concern, I really don’t know what we could have done differently. If there’s some other issue, I’d be interested to know what it was. I think the most important “accurate information” in the entire article was in the headline, where it stated “We are well protected,” which I think speaks volumes about the integrity of our levee. I’ve lived here for over 40 years and I’ve never had one drop of water from the Mississippi River in my house]

Leave a Reply

