Letter to the Editor

To the Editor:

8 years ago I was diagnosed with cancer. Instead of a traditional permanent colostomy, I had a procedure called BCIR. The best way to explain it is that it is an internal colostomy. There are only two surgeons in the United States that do this procedure. One of the things that can happen is that you can dehydrate quickly. Last Sunday I started to have severe leg cramps. I knew my only choice was to go to an emergency room and get IV fluids. I did not want to go and spend hours waiting. We decided to call Lifeline to see if they could help me out. After explaining my procedure to them and explaining that all I needed was two leaders of fluids (I am an RN. Sometimes this is good and sometimes not so good when you are the patient). Thanks to them and especially Stephen Allison who started my IV and gave me two leaders of fluids. This saved me from going to the emergency room. They were very professional and timely.Since we do not have a hospital here, they are a vital part of our community. We are blessed to have them here. Thank you again, Lifeline. Theresa Williams, RN

Leave a Reply

