‘Couples Day’ in Judge Thorne’s courtroom?

Drugs, dogs and domestic violence on the docket

By the Evening Times News Staff news@theeveningtimes.com

A man and a woman, both with a felony charge, were in Judge Fred Thorne’s Court on Friday. “You are charged with possession schedule 1 and 2. How do you know each other?” “Friend.” “Where do you live?” “Dover,” said the man. “Spears,” said the woman. “Have you had charges of drugs before?” “Yes.” “I’ll set your bond today.” To the woman, “Have you been convicted of a felony before?” “Yes.” “So court doesn’t scare you and then you got picked up again.” To the man: “Do you work?” “Yes, at a pizza place, I clean apartments and I work at a dog kennel.” “Weren’t you just in my court?” “Yes, for no insurance.” “Both of you go see the public defender.” Another woman and man were called up, also for felony charges. “How do you know him?” “He’s my boyfriend.” “Do you have a job, sir?” “No. I take care of my mother. She has diabetes.” “Do you have a job ma’am?” “I take care of some kids.” “Both of you go see the public defender. I hear every excuse under the sun. People come in here, convicted felons, saying they take care of someone. That just sets the bar higher. If he had stayed home, not running the streets, carrying a gun, he wouldn’t be in trouble or arrested. The arrest was at 4:44 a.m. He really was at home taking care of his diabetic mother!” A man in jail was charged with disorderly conduct and pled no contest. “The police came and you were cursing.” “I wasn’t cursing at all. I was talking loud on my phone trying to get my mother to come and pick me up.” “$350 plus court costs.” The next man in jail came up when his name was called. “Someone should come and get you, sir. I have all your paperwork,” said Judge Thorne. “I want Mr. Montgomery to be my public defender,” said the defendant. “Jail, if he isn’t gone from jail by next Friday set him back up to be seen.” “I want Mr. Montgomery to be my public defender.” “You can have Mr. Montgomery. I’ll let him know.” A woman in jail pled guilty to possession of drug paraphernalia. “How long have you had a drug problem?” “I don’t have a drug problem. I was taking it to someone else.” “$350 plus court costs and one year suspended sentence.” A man in jail charged with public intoxication pled no contest. “That one beer really got to you if you registered a .11.” “I had about three beers.” “What kind?” “211.” “What is 211? I never heard of that one.” “A cheap beer,” said someone in the galley. “Was the sidewalk moving on you? Do you work?” “I’m disabled.” “That disability didn’t have anything to do with your right hand. Your beer-drinking hand. $250 plus court costs.” A man in jail was asked by Judge Thorne, “How old are you?” “19. It’s my last year in high school.” “How do you plead to public intoxication?” “No contest.” “You were at school and someone called because you had dope on you.” “Go talk to the public defender. If you had dope on you at school, I’m fixing to light you up. The jail has a GED program.” A woman in the courtroom pled no contest to disregarding a stop sign and no tags. “When did your tags expire?” “They should have been renewed in August.” “Do you have them renewed now?” “Yes.” “I came to a quick, rolling stop. I didn’t see the stop sign.” “You didn’t see the cop. $85 plus court costs and go to driver’s school. I’ll dismiss the tags.” A woman in the courtroom was charged with careless driving. She pled guilty. To her charge of no proof of insurance, she first pled not guilty. “Have a seat until you can figure out what you should have pled. Were you here when I gave my speech about how you should plead? “Yes, I want to change my plea to no contest.” “$55 plus court costs on the careless driving. $50 plus court costs on the insurance. Go to driver’s school and I’ll keep it off your record.” A woman charged with driving on suspended and failure to appear pled no contest to both charges. “Do you work?” “Yes. I would like to have two weeks to get an attorney.” “You don’t need it on what you pled, but I’ll let you have time to get one anyway.” A man pled no contest on his no proof of insurance charge. “I showed the officer my insurance. It wasn’t my car but I had insurance myself.” “Show me your insurance now.” “I don’t have it with me.” “I’ll give you until 8:30 next Friday to bring your insurance back or a letter from your insurance company.” A woman charged with failure to yield pled a loud, “NOT GUILTY.” “Well that was with conviction. Be back for your trial.” A man charged with a dog running loose and no tags pled no contest. “You had the rabies shots but not the tags?” “I thought it was all one thing.” “What kind of dog is it?” “A female pit.” “How old?” “She is a year old.” “Most people, when they see a pit, are afraid. They fear that kind of dog. It is your job to keep it up.” “She just went out to the bathroom.” “Do you have a fenced back yard?” “Yes.” “Then let her out there to go to the bathroom. $85 plus court costs. I’ll dismiss the tags. Do you have then now?” “Yes, sir.” A woman charged with domestic battery pled not guilty. “Set this for trial. If you had pled no contest today you would have probably gotten off with a $100 fine. This is pretty serious. He was holding a gun while you broke windows out. Be back for your trial.” The next person was asked. “How long since I have seen you?” “Two weeks.” “How is he doing on his community service?” “He did it all,” reported the justice network representative. “Do you have the window tint off?” “Yes.” “Where is the car.” “At home.” “Father, I want you to swear to tell the truth, the whole truth under God.” “I do.” “Does he have the window tint off?” “Yes, sir.” “How old are you?” “18.” “In high school?” “No. Freshman in college. MSCC. “What is your grade?” “3.0.” “3.0 is average these days. You need a 3.5 at least. They have dumbed down the school so bad that a 3.0 isn’t so good any more. I think you are chasing women too much.” “No, I’m studying.”

Leave a Reply

