‘Do you want me to send her to jail so you can have the weekend off?’

Friday the 13th an unlucky day for some in Judge Thorne’s courtroom

By the Evening Times News Staff news@theeveningtimes.com

Only eight men were in jail on Friday the 13th. “Before you tell me absolutely, anything you must enter a plea,” began Judge Fred Thorne of West Memphis District Court. After his speech about how to plead, Judge Thorne called the first man in jail. “How do you plea to public intoxication?” “Not guilty.” “Your trial date will be Dec. 21.” To the next man he asked, “How do you plea to loitering and possession of an instrument of crime?” “I don’t understand that charge.” “The report says at 5:46 a.m. you were carrying a duffle bag and had pliers in your pocket.” “Not guilty.” “And to loitering?” “Not guilty.” “Be back for trial on Dec. 21.” A man in the courtroom was charged with driving on suspended and pled no contest. “What is your license suspended for?” “DWI. I have a restricted license now.” “Do you work?” “Yes.” “What time did you get off?” “11 p.m.” “I’ll dismiss it this time. From now on, keep your restricted license with you.” A woman charged with driving on suspended, no insurance and careless driving pled guilty to all charges. “Do you have insurance?” “No. I can’t get the money to have the car fixed.” “Where do you live?” “Lakeshore.” “Do you work?” “Yes.” “You have a problem in Tennessee and that is why your license is suspended?” “Yes.” “Driving on suspended $400 plus court costs, 90 days jail suspended to 3 months probation through the Justice Network. $400 plus court costs on the no insurance and $65 plus court costs on the careless driving.” A man who was charged with following too close pled guilty. “Do you have insurance?” “Yes, sir.” “$65 plus court costs and go to driver’s school and I’ll keep it off your record.” A woman in the courtroom was charged with driving on suspended and no driver’s license. She pled no contest. “Why is your license suspended?” “I was behind on my fines in Tennessee.” “Do you have proof of insurance?” “Yes, sir.” “$350 plus court costs and 60 days jail suspended to 3 months probation. $225 plus costs on the no driver’s license.” A woman charged with no proof of insurance pled no contest. “Do you have insurance now?” “Yes.” “Did you have it then?” “No.” “$225 plus court costs.” A woman charged with failure to stop pled no contest. “I was on my way to school and I was late.” “Do you work?” “No.” “What are you going to do?” “Social work.” “Pay the court costs and go to driver’s school.” A man walked out behind her. “Are you going to pay this for her?” “Yes.” “Do you want me to send her to jail so you can have the weekend off?” “No.” A man in the courtroom was charged with failure to appear and driving on suspended. He pled no contest to those charges but to loud music he pled guilty. “I see you fixed your hair before you came here.” “I’ve been working long hours. Why is your license suspended?” “ I had a bench warrant a while ago.” “Where do you work?” “Warren Unilube.” ‘$105 plus costs on the failure to appear. I’ll merge the driving on suspended and the loud music $350 plus court costs.” “I may not have enough money.” “You can use the toothbrush plan.” “What’s that?” Judge Thorne just pointed to the people in jail. A man in the court room pled not guilty to no proof of insurance. “I’ll use the Jamaican law. Set his trial date as soon as possible.” A man charged with no headlight pled no contest. “I got it fixed.” “Okay, I’ll dismiss it.” A man charged with going the wrong way on a one way street pled no contest. To his charge of no child restraint he pled not guilty. “I was picking up kids for my brother. I don’t usually do that so I didn’t know where to go.” “$45 plus court costs and if you change your pled on the child restraint I’ll dismiss it.” “I will.” A man was asked by Judge Thorne, “How long has it been since I’ve seen you?” “I don’t recall.” “I recall. It was February.” “How do you pled to driving on suspended?” “Not guilty.” “Give him a trial date. Everybody here knows his license is suspended.” A man charged with speeding and no child restraint pled no contest. “My child can unstrap herself.” “How old is she?” “Three.”“What happened about the speeding?” “I was on Broadway and they were going the other way.” “They can aim the radar at you either way. Where do you work?” “South Second Street. I just started.” “$55 plus court costs and go to driver’s school and I’ll dismiss the child restraint.” A man charged with no driver’s license, no tags and no insurance pled guilty, guilty and not guilty. “How long since I’ve seen you?” “A minute.” “For those of you who don’t know, a minute can be 60 seconds to 10 years.” “I got my license renewed. It had just expired.”“When did your tags expire?” “They just expired too.” “I think you lied to me. $25 plus court costs on the driver’s license and $55 plus court costs on the tags. Be back here for your trial on Dec. 21st on the insurance.” A man charged with theft pled no contest and was fined $350 plus court costs and one year jail suspended to 6 months probation. “It wasn’t me that stole stuff, it was my friend. He just wanted a ride to Wal-Mart” A woman in the courtroom also was accused of theft from Wal-Mart. “The report says you took hair spray. What do you do for a living?” “I do hair.” “You have two options. You can get a fine of $350 plus court costs and one year suspended to six months today or you can plead not guilty and we will have a trial and if you are found guilty you can pay $500 plus court costs and 30 days jail.” “I’ll take option A.” Another woman charged with theft pled no contest.“Why did you take DVDs?” “I wasn’t thinking.” “Do you work?” “Yes.” “$350 plus court costs and one year suspended to six months probation.” A man walked out with her. “Are you her husband?” “Yes.”“Were you shocked about her stealing?” “No, sir.” “Does she need to steal?” “No.” “$350 plus court costs. One year jail suspended to six months probation.”

Leave a Reply

