Text The Times 870-225-1456

I must make my comment about the fireman in the red truck AR FE636. I encountered him on Hwy. 55. I thought he was going to rear end me as he was going so fast. I’m praying he reads The Times and will slow down before he kills someone. [Editor’s Note: If my information is accurate, and he was indeed a Maumelle fireman, it’s probably unlikely he reads the Crittenden County newspaper, but maybe this will get back to him. When I was learning how to drive, my Dad gave me some good advice: “When you’re driving, always assume everyone else on the road is trying to kill you. You might know what you’re going to do, but you never know what the other drivers are going to do]

*** I guess the person that writes “OUR VIEW” didn’t get the memo. I didn’t get the memo. I don’t think TN or anyone else, gives a flip about what this side of the river needs or wants. They don’t think they’re dealing with equals. And after this hospital fiasco, and a number of other things, I will not mention, I can see why. Now this is just my humble opinion. Don’t bother thanking me. Always glad to help out. [Editor’s Note: My favorite idea about the bridge closure so far has been when someone suggested that the day they close the Old Bridge from the Tennessee side, we close the New Bridge from the Arkansas side. When I was a kid, I was told Arkansas was the only state that you could cut off completely from the rest of the country and we’d still be able to survive. That’s true, right?]

*** Why no special section for veterans this year? [Editor’s Note: I know in years past (the last time was 2011) we asked readers to send in pictures and info for family members, loved ones, or themselves in their military uniforms for a Veterans Day page, but for the past few years, we have instead run Veterans Day feature stories. Just doing something different. We might bring back the veterans’ page again in the future, you never know. On a related note, according to the Department of Veterans Affairs, estimated that 413 American World War II veterans die every day, and the average age for a World War II veteran is 94. With Korean War veterans only averaging a few years younger, and Vietnam veterans at or around 70, many veterans’ associations are seeing participation drop off significantly. Even our local VFW has fallen on hard times]

*** Is it that time of year again when I can expect to see the bodies of dead deer in the paper every day? [Editor’s Note: I assume you’re not a hunter? I get that. But we have a huge hunting community here in Crittenden County and that’s just the sort of thing that our Outdoors Page is for. Just FYI, we only run the Outdoors Page on Thursdays, and it’s almost always on the last page, so if it really does bother you that much, now you know how to avoid it. On that note, anyone with a nice trophy buck, send in your picture and see it featured on our Outdoors Page … Thursdays in the Evening Times!]

*** It always amazes me that you ask the public to submit photos, recipes and news stories but then the editor sits on them until it’s all outdated news unless it’s sports or school events. There’s more going on than you can see from 1010 N. Hwy. 77, but obviously you are not interested just saying. [Editor’s Note: Wait, what? We do our best to get news and information out in a timely manner — if there’s some specific item where you feel that isn’t the case, let me know. Maybe we can do better in the future. Just to say I said it, we try to prioritize stories, pictures, etc. within the limited space each day and sometimes stories get “bumped” because of that]

*** Here’s an idea. How about the city of West Memphis spending a few bucks to update its website and list a working contact number to report a power outage to West Memphis Utilities. We should be able to report a problem after 5 p.m. without too much difficulty! [Editor’s Note: I use westmemphis.org all the time and I can usually find whatever I’m looking for pretty easily. In regards to your specific issue about contacting them about a power outage after hours. I called the number on their web page, 735-3355 at 6:50 a.m. this morning (hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) and spoke to a nice man who told me that number has 24-hour response. I’m not saying you did it wrong. I’m just saying it worked for me]

*** Could not say enough nice words about Marion’s football coaches. So proud for our school and players to have such fine men to teach and guide them. So blessed to be a Marion Patriot! [Editor’s Note: And congrats to the Patriots on the big playoff win Friday Night. West Memphis had a tough assignment, so it wasn’t a huge surprise to see them take the loss, but I was very surprised that Earle went down at home against a team they were expected to beat. Go get ‘em, Pats!]

*** Build your round about TDOT if best interest for everyone in long run no way you would lose 100 million if shut everything down on this side river must be talking about Memphis are might have water on brain [Editor’s Note: I feel like if I arranged these words in the right order, I might agree with them, but it’s honestly too hard to tell. I will, however, take this opportunity to say that I don’t think that the project they have planned is as necessary as TDOT seems to think it is. I’m not an engineer or a city planner or whatever, but that partucular area seems to function well enough … or at least well enough to not be able to justify the disruption the project would cause]

*** I miss NASCAR page! [Editor’s Note: Sorry, the NASCAR weekly roundup page, for its cost, just didn’t really seem to be worth it. We try to focus on local news and sports, branching out regionally as space and opportunity permits, and the NASCAR page didn’t really go along with that model. I’m sure I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know, but there’s a lot of perfectly good auto racing news, completely free, available online]

*** That was another student got their window busted out of a truck today during school in the parking lot at Marion. I hope other parents will get involved and call the police or school so we can get a stop to this nonsense. It’s crazy for these vehicles to keep getting vandalized. Please do some research to see what is being done about this. Thanks. [Editor’s Note: I wasn’t aware this was an ongoing issue. Is this an off-shoot of the recent MPR “tagging” that was all the rage a couple of weeks ago, or is this something new? I’m not sure what sort of research I can do. The school has surveilance cameras and the police have a resource officer on the campus, so I’d say they have investigative tools at their disposal]

Leave a Reply

